Optimize meshes

When we started working on CoBots last year, neither me or any of the other two graphic students had any experience working with 3D. We all wanted to learn tough, so we decided to go for a 3D game anyway, since it would fit our idea better.

I have had a lot of fun working with 3D and I have learned much! One of the things that we’ve learned the hard way is to optimize meshes.

When we started making meshes for CoBots, we really wanted to make good looking meshes. We hadn’t worked with 3D more than in our first 3D course earlier that autumn and because of this we didn’t really understand what the outcome would be from making to detailed meshes.

Now that we’ve been reworking the game, I’ve learned. I have. It’s still tricky though. When I open up a beautiful sword mesh that I remember that I worked on and was pretty satisfied with, I don’t really feel the urge to make it less detailed. Since the sword is only a background detail, I do understand that I have to do it, but I really wish that I had knew how to optimize the meshes in the beginning. It would have saved us alot of time and tears.

Leave a comment